3d. Development and Adaptation of Training Materials

Updated by Global Symbols with UNICEF ECARO


Process and Resources to suit different skill levels or themes

  • Offline – outline options for face to face topics
  • Links to PowerPoint slides and resources
  • Online – Choosing themes or key skill levels

    • The materials are freely provided for anyone supporting very young children with severe speech and language difficulties who need to use other methods of communication such as symbols and assistive technology.
    • The modules are appropriate for use by a teacher, therapist, parent, support assistant, carer or family member.

The change from themes to levels was based on discussions during the initial training sessions shared with UNICEF and Global Symbols. The result was another set of online training materials to take into account different skill levels.

It is the The AAC Guided Pathways modules that offer topics at three different levels. They are available on the same site as the original themed AAC Training modules that can be worked through in any particular order depending on requirements.

Each level of the AAC Pathways takes around six hours to complete, supporting general, intermediate, and more advanced AAC knowledge and skills, linking to the European Qualification Framework.

  • The aim is to guide participants through the Augmentative and Alternative Communication training materials sequentially. The three levels start building on very limited knowledge and skills and move to level 2, where basic knowledge and skills can be put into practice to complete tasks. Finally, at level 3, it is possible to learn more about the facts, principles, processes, and general concepts with skills to support assessment, implementation and adaptation on the AAC journey.
  • Depending on the level of AAC and AT confidence, learners can choose the level they would like to start learning.

See Also